Skip to content

Firing up my brain with maths!

by on April 24, 2017

My Success Story by Loraine

I am recovering from a brain injury due to a stroke 4 years ago.

My poor subject at school was maths, though I did get a CSE Grade 1 at a college resit back in the 1980s, over the years I had forgotten all of it. I wanted to challenge myself.

I thought by doing a maths course, starting over from scratch would help me to understand mathematical problems and to apply it to some everyday situations more confidently, such as working out percentages.

And secondly I was hoping it would help in some way to ‘fire-up’ my brain to work a little better, which I think it did somewhat.

I thought Maths was  confusing and difficult

When I joined the class I was keen to start over and challenge myself

Being in this class was a lot of fun, and everyone had it in them to solve the questions, and with encouragement and confidence we were able to demonstrate this

I can now  move on to further study, and apply it to everyday scenarios, like sales, purchases, measurements

I am better at  problem solving.

What I’m going to do now is  move on to the next level, i.e. functional maths level 2, and I plan to continue through the levels to see how far I can go. After level 2, my goal is to try a GCSE for the first time, and it will be maths.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

